RSS Feed
Mr V's Camino

Day 37 – Triacastella to Sarria – 18.7km

May 20, 2015 by gerryv   

Day 37 elevation profile

Day 37 elevation profile

This day is perhaps one of the most important for my Camino. If I can make it to Sarria, then, it is less than a week to go after that, around 100km. My resolve has been strengthened over the last few days from well wishes from other pilgrims and support from home. I have also decided to resume wearing my pack as I have felt something missing. So I stop sending it on. If I couldn’t do it with my pack today, then a major rethink was needed.

I am glad to have my companion on my back again.

I am glad to have my companion on my back again.

The walk out of Triacastela is beautiful, and surprisingly comfortable. The new treatment and dressing seems to have had an immediate effect. Cathy, our Californian friend, has scouted Sarria for us and has lined up an outdoor shoe shop for new boots for me. If we make it to Sarria, it will be something to consider – there is no way I could resume wearing my old boots.

Following doctors orders - rest and air the foot.

Following doctors orders – rest and air the foot.

During our walk we come across the strangest thing. A vending machine in the middle of a paddock in the open air?..and it works.

Water please.

Water please.

We reach Sarria without too much trouble and check out the shoe store. I can’t possibly get my foot into a shoe, and it us probably not wise to break in a new pair of shoe for the last 100km or so. So I opt for a new and more supportive pair of hiking sandals. Fingers crossed this will be OK. We shall find out tomorrow.


2 Comments »

  1. Maree Bradley says:

    So sorry to read about your misfortune Gerry. Keep the spirits up. I read somewhere that the longest journey is from the head to the heart and its probably the most important. Even if you don’t complete the physical journey you have reached the sacred space within where God dwells. That’s something to celebrate.

    • gerryv says:

      Thanks Maree, they are very true words.
      We have been able to continue the physical journey after some very good treatment.
      I certainly found strength in the people God put around me to keep me going.
      My head and heart are now in a good space.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar