RSS Feed
Mr V's Camino

Day 33 – Ponferada to Vilafranca del Beirzo – 23.3km

May 16, 2015 by gerryv   

Day 33 elevation profile

Day 33 elevation profile

Today is meant to be a long walk, though the terrain is relatively easy. We make our way out of town following the marked path through the outskirts of this beautiful town. We did hear a story, however, of another Australian pilgrim who lost the path and was wandering around for two hours looking for it before he found his way out of town.  We, however, wander along the correct paths enjoying the urban sprawl and some unusual architecture.

Is that the missing tetras shape?

Is that the missing tetras shape?

With only about an hour or so to go, disaster!! The peregrinos worst enemy strikes – the blister. I feel a sudden pian and then a liquid soaking my sock. I am sitting by the side of the road too afraid to remove my shoe. I draw enough courage to do so and am dismayed at the size of the blister on the back of my heel.  I was told it was best not to break the skin of a blister, but it was too late for that. It was truly ready to hobble this pilgrim. It looked so bad I was distraught at the thought that this might be the end of my Camino.

Fortunately our friends from the Central Coast passed by and were able to offer some first aid. Narelle went back to the last Alburgue we had passed to get help and I sat on the side of road and sobbed in dismay. I could not believe that I could walk over 600km without any problems, then get a blister so bad that I thought the end was nigh. Gosh it hurt, physically, emotionally and spiritually.

Whist I sat waiting for Narelle to return, I felt so despondent, so emotionally exhausted, I cried on the road side, alone. I find it hard to explain the thoughts that were running though my head. Extreme disappointment was the greatest feeling, panic another. Was this the end of my pilgrimage or not? I felt like the man in the Parable of the Good Samaritan, alone and helpless. Luckily there are plenty of Good Samaritans on the Camino. Many other pilgrims passed and gave me hope and offered assistance as I waited for Narelle to return. The genuine offers of support for a complete stranger were overwhelming. My emotions stabilised and I was able to think of options for continuing rather than accept defeat.

We travelled the last few kilometres into Vilafranca by taxi to attend the local medical clinic. The nurses patched me up and sent me on my way. I still didn’t know how I was going to walk with this. After checking into our lodging I tried putting on a sock and my sandals. Whilst the pain was still strong, I was able to hobble along, slowly and with a limp, be as it may. We strolled along a quiet country path, past some cherry trees, from which we tasted – Yum – the pain wasn’t so bad any more.

I hope the local farmer doesn't mind me tasting his fruit.

I hope the local farmer doesn’t mind me tasting his fruit.

We returned to our hotel, had a tasty paella for dinner and called it a day. Maybe tomorrow will be better – only 20km or so – ouch. I have learned some very important lessons today.

The offending site.

The offending site.


»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar