RSS Feed
Mr V's Camino

One More Sleep

April 13, 2015 by gerryv   

As I settle down for the evening, the realisation that my Camino begins with an early start tomorrow morning, is dominating my thoughts. Walking around SJPdP all day has allowed me to focus on what is ahead. The energy in this small Basque town at the foot of the Pyrenees is very uplifting. Being a pilgrim here is very rewarding. Sitting in the town church of The Assumption, gave me a chance to reflect, to refresh and to connect with the spiritual aspect of the Camino. Pilgrims for hundreds of years have passed through SJPdP and sat in the same place I sat today. They all crossed the bridge over the river Nive and marched the trail.My Credential

I started my Credential today with my first stamp at the office of Les Amis de le Chemin. A busy focal point for many pilgrims. I was wished Bon Chemin. It will change tomorrow in Spain to Buen Camino.

Tomorrow is an early start with a long walk in front of me. It is supposedly the most difficult part of the Camino. The road to Roncesvalles is steep and long. I hope to complete the 26km in around 7hours. I look forward to the challenge. I am so lucky to have my wife with me to share this experience.


»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar